My relationship with the internet

My first encounter with the internet goes back to 6 years ago, when I was 12 years old. I was in middle school, in San Diego, and I had heard about this site that every body else was talking about. This site called myspace was the talk of the school, so i decided to try it out. From this site I learned to connect with old friends from my past, connect with people I’ve never met, and listen to music my parents didnt apporve of. I found myspace to be a fun and open place to mingle, I always recieved messages from people I’ve never met to meet up and hang out at some park. These people were usually older than me, and always said nice things, but i knew for a fact that only idiots would end up falling for their crap, so I just ignored their offers for free candy and video games.

Thanks to myspace, I learned about e-pedophilia, gang rap music, demonic metal, and gospel death metal. Looking back now, I can say with confidence that myspace made me the man I am today. At first I thought getting molested on myspace would be a tragic event, but I’m glad it happened. When I look at children who are online today, I can’t help but think of all the things they can be exposed too. I’m scared for them, honestly, but I believe that they will learn from their mistakes.

Now that I am older, and more knowledgable, I know that the Internet is filled with dangerous and exotic things, but it can also be used as a vast sorce for knowledge. Till this day, I look upon the internet as both a place to be feared, but to be used with great responsibility, and as a place to connect to a pool of unlimited knowledge.

About Ingenous Dynamics

i got 99 problems, but swag aint one.

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I wish I would’ve learned not to take the free candy

  2. What’s your favorite gospel death metal band?

    I’ve honestly never heard a Christian metal band that was any good…all though I’ve always suspected Helloween is secretly Christian.

  3. Funny you should mention MySpace. I’ve been computing longer than most of the students in this class have been alive. And I’ve been goofing off on the internet since before there were graphic web browsers. But I never could get interested in MySpace, Friendster or even The Facebook.

    So I feel a bit out of touch when I notice how common these experiences are for you and your classmates.

    Guess we’ve got a bit of a generation gap going on here.

Leave a Reply

